8/8/13

Isaiah 43:18 & 19

If I had actually read Isaiah today I would have finished up chapter 44 by reading verses 9-28. However, when I opened up my bible to my bookmark a two verses I’d marked over a year ago caught my eye. 

Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I am doing a new thing, now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? 

I highlighted that on April 16th, 2012. 04/16/12. One day after you asked me to be yours. I went from waiting for the love of my life for the past 3 years to being with you, the one who became the love of my life for always. It was beautiful and relevant then, now it’s beautiful and tragic. Now I have to apply it to my life once again, but in the form of my “friends” and everything that is going on with them. A new thing is coming, undoubtedly. But it seems to be coming painstakingly slow. But I don’t think it’s the coming new that is bothering me so much, it’s reminiscing the old. I love the old. I had a hard enough time adapting to 2011 from 2007-2010, and 2011-2012, and so on. I have never been a fan of change and losing my friends is a form of change I don’t know how to respond to. I try so hard to be reasonable, understanding, anything but bitter. It’s hard. I guess I’m not perceiving the new things springing forth. Haha. Anyway, my bookmark has been sitting in that same section of Isaiah for a very long time now because I don’t read Isaiah but maybe 3 or 4 times a year…maybe there was a deeper reason that I haven’t read it in so long. Every time I pass through the book I see those two highlighted verses and I may or may not glance over them and notice their relativity to my life. This time I did and I am so thankful for it. 

Leave a Reply

