08/1/13

Discumbobulation 8:1

I don’t know if I’m even going to touch on any specific passage that I read. I honestly don’t think I should, but I instead should talk about why I’m not writing on a specific passage. Are you thoroughly confused yet? Great! See, there is a lot going on my personal life right now both physically and emotionally, as well as mentally. I’ve found that in my devotions each day I have been subconsciously searching for a verse or verses that will justify my complaints and allow me to groan about my issues. Perhaps that is because I have, among other things, been making my way through the Psalms and all David ever seemed to do was cry to Daddy to tear down the guys who were picking on him and hurting his feelings. Sure, there’s nothing wrong with hoping you come across scripture that will apply to your current issue/emotion…but what are your motives? What are my motives?

So, what I’m getting at is I should be worrying about myself. Yeah, maybe I’m not even doing anything wrong, but who’s to say I couldn’t be striving to do better anyway, just for kicks? It’s not always about reading the word, it’s getting something out of it and putting it to practice. That’s what I’m going to attempt to do. I’m sorry that I’m rambling on so. It’s just that this whole idea came to me just a few minutes ago. On top of that I am typing on my mom’s phantom keyboard, in the dark so I’m stumbling over my own words. Perhaps a closing statement and I’ll give up.

Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.

-Matthew 7:3-5

Leave a Reply

