7/31/13

1 Peter 1:8-9
I started reading through this chapter and when I got to these two verses I didn’t even keep going. I knew it was what I should hear and what I wanted to write about today. It says, “Though you have not seen him, you love him. Though you do not now see him, you believe in him and rejoice with joy that is inexpressible and filled with glory, obtaining the outcome of your faith, the salvation of your souls.”
I was sitting in the corridor at church listening to the message when I read this passage and it could not have been more perfect. It’s funny. I think it’s a fact we as Christians don’t really think about. We wake up and go about our daily lives (or should be, anyway) loving, honoring, praying to, and worshipping this God. A God we have never seen, but a God we love and trust in. Through that belief we receive an indescribable joy, from the God that we cannot see.
I’m not trying to knock it by any means. I think it’s fantastic. But if you look at it in another perspective I think it is rather scary too. Imagine if we weren’t fortunate enough to have our hope in Christ. What if there was something else unseen introduced to our lives that we latched on to before our faith. Some sort of sinful act or false religion. If it is so easy to join in on these other religions or idols or sinful natures then how much more are we at risk for losing what we already have. Reading this made me realize those two things.
One: How amazing/interesting we place our entire lives in something unseen.
Two: How lucky we are to have the mystery of Christ revealed to us rather than some less mysterious, worldly thing.

Leave a Reply

