7/29/13

Psalm 34

I honestly think that the past two days I’ve read were specifically written for me and no one else. I feel that a lot actually. It’s because everything in the Word is so personable. It’s so… intimate despite who the reader is. I needed these readings. Today I read Psalm 34. In verse 18, it says “the Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in Spirit.” Nanny is going in this week. They’re leaving on Wednesday actually. I still can’t believe it’s all happening sometimes. I’m just dreading the moment I have to say goodbye. So I guess what I’m trying to say is that this is exactly what I needed. God is incredible. He’s like nothing that anyone can fathom because there’s no physical human being that could have such love and compassion for others. It’s times like these where I read about how he has me and how he is close to me that I feel most like I’m his child. That he’s my daddy. That no matter what the world throws at me, I am held together by him and he won’t ever let me go.

Psalms are always so interesting to me because they cover so many topics within one chapter. It’s the same with proverbs. Each chapter can hardly stay constrained to one topic or one aspect for the Christian life. So I find myself initially expecting to get one thing out of a passage and find myself having 5 things I need to focus on. Verse 14. “Turn from evil and do good. Seek peace and pursue it.” Doesn’t get much more direct than that. It’s not a request God has for the Christian. It’s a command. Turn. Seek. Pursue. All things that require motivation, dedication, and desire. I need more of that. I need that passion. I love that fire that burns when you’re in Christ mind, body, and soul. So that is what I need to work on today.

Leave a Reply

